“ugly” blueberry scones

This is the name my grandfather has dubbed my blueberry scones. They are a kind of gray-blue color, and lumpy looking. But OH SO GOOD! I love how he said it to me “They are tasty, but man are they ugly!”
and I agreed!
Meanwhile ugly or not, the 2 dozen I made on christmas morning for my whole large family disappeared before I even had a chance to get one. these are easy to make though, and so I make them often. Even my husband, who does not like blueberries fresh eats these up! they kind of taste like a blueberry pancake.

So here is the recipe:

2 cups all-purpose flour
6 tbsp salted butter
1/3 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 egg
2/3 cup buttermilk
1 cup blueberries (frozen or fresh) -( i use frozen, after trying both frozen and fresh the scones are more moist and have a better flavor with the frozen. I was shocked!)

Preheat oven to 400(F). In a bowl, combine flour, 1/3 cup sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Stir together. Cut butter into pieces. Add butter pieces to dry mixture. Using a pastry cutter or your fingers, incorporate butter pieces until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.(i use my fingers its easier)
In a separate bowl combine egg, 2/3 cup buttermilk and vanilla. Add blueberries to dry mixture. Carefully coat blueberries with dry mixture. This will also prevent blue “bleed.” Create a well in the center of mixture. Add buttermilk mixture all at once to the well. Carefully combine, just until moistened. (mine “bleed” but that’s what makes them ‘ugly’ and taste good too)

Here is where I divert from the recipe: I spray the tinfoil covered cookie sheet with PAM and then I use a 1/4 measuring cup and spoon out the batter on to a cookie sheet covered in tinfoil. If you forget to spray it its nota big deal. Sometimes I sprinkle sugar on the tops of the scones but thats about it. I didn’t notice a difference between brushing buttermilk on top of the scones or not, so I usually skip that.

The blog that posted the originals has pictures, which is helpful! again here is the recipe: http://www.averagebetty.com/recipes/buttermilk-blueberry-scones-recipe/

20120114-045559.jpg

ugly and yummy

One comment on ““ugly” blueberry scones

Leave a Reply

